International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) Introduction

International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) formally established in London in Oct. 1906, is the world's oldest international standardization organizations. It is responsible for developing the field of electrical and electronic international standards.

Now, IEC is already the world the most authoritative international standardization organisations, including the following 43 member countries: China, America, Britain, cis, French figure, Japan, Germany, Italy, Australia, Austria, Canada, Belgium, Sweden, Switzerland, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Hungary, the Czech republic, New Zealand, India, Egypt, Greece, Finland, Denmark, South Korea, South Africa, Israel, north Korea, Brazil, Luxembourg, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia, Indonesia, Ireland, Pakistan, Portugal, Poland, Singapore, Malaysia, Romania, Turkey and Thailand.

IEC has established 82 technical committee, 1 radio interference special committee (CISPR), 1 joint IEC/ISO technical committee (JICI), 127 points technical committee and 700 working group. Around the world, about 100,000 electrician, electronic experts in the field of elder freely for IEC work, revising IEC international standards.

IEC standard for AC power surge protective devices (or called surge arresters, spds) is IEC61643-1, IEC61643-11&12.